Making a difference in the Lives of Girls in the Bwaise slum of Uganda

We are fully convinced that there is nothing more satisfying than making a difference in a life of another person. AGI is proud to have successfully completed the first project in Bwaise.  When we started it was like an illusion but many doors were opened along the way that enabled us move step by step. With collective efforts from friends of the AGI family at home and abroad, they made the project very successful. The reason why I am writing this story is for you to get a sneak peak of the lives of some the girls out of the forty that completed the programme.

Fatuma

Fatuma

My name is fatuma, I am seventeen. I stopped school in primary seven due to lack of school fees. I stay with my two sisters. I became a family head when I was ten my mother and father passed away. I thank God that I am still alive. Three months ago I was told about an upcoming programme with an organization. Deep inside me, I knew that I didn’t stand a chance of being selected because I knew nobody that could speak out for me nor did I have a coin to bribe my way in. luckily, I was recruited. I have learned a lot of things but above all I have learned how to braid hair. the care and attention I have received these three months I have never gotten before. I am very convinced that I can pay for my sisters in secondary school once they get there.  There are things I never even dreamed of ever achieving my future has been handed back to me.”

Maxine Birungi

I was clueless I didn’t know what to do since my school days were over.  I heard about this programme. I was at that time looking for a job just any job.  I felt like I had reached the end of the line. I guess it is God that sent these people when I joined I was praying hard that they indeed fulfill their promises. The people were so good and I kept thinking they might bring a bill for me to pay. I thank God that this time has turned my life around. I have hope. I do not need to go sell my body to earn a shilling or two I have a skill. I cannot reward these people it is only the almighty God that will reward them.”

Maria

“I am Maria, I stay alone my father and mother separated they got married to other people leaving me with no place to belong. I started hassling making ends meet but it was an uphill task. Before joining the AGI programme, I was so unruly  because I knew that I had no one to account to. I started small businesses but they kept failing. I went to work in a salon to wash their towels and clean the salon but as I told you earlier I was very big headed so I could not last at a job even two weeks. When the AGI people showed up and someone whispered it into my ears, I joined. But to my dismay, s all they taught was discipline in the first weeks.  I was getting bored but every time I wanted to walk away, a voice inside me told me to hang around. Just when I was thinking that that was my last day to attend, I was selected to be the leader of my class. This responsibility kept me around and thank God I did not walk away.  The opportunity of making friends in this group was just enough for me. I know that I am a better person. I know that I can look forward to a better tomorrow.”

Ruth in black

“My name is Ruth. I am a 22 year old  single mother. My child’s father took off as soon as he heard I was pregnant. Life has been so hard my mother was supporting both of us I do odd jobs here and there. I thank the Lord so much that He gave me this opportunity to gain a skill and I know that I will not be at the mercy of a man if I ever get married like many of my friends.  My life has been changed completely.”

 

Bashirah

“My name is Bashira Asiimwe kisakye I am sixteen. Just when life was squeezing me, I got an opportunity to join the AGI programme. I was very stubborn and I disturbed facilitators a lot. I am embarrassed that I am the only one that got a suspension during this programme. Miss Prudence was so angry with me that she threw me out of the programme. I was just being silly after apologizing in vain, one day mum received a call calling me back. I tried my best to behave I thank God for these skills that I have gained the wonderful teachers that I had.  I badly want to go back to school and I know that this skill will help me to raise money to take me back to school I have very big dreams and I know that I will get there.”

Well those are just a few stories from the girls. As for us at AGI we are looking forward to the next lot like bush fire we shall spread. Our joy is to see the lives of the girl child empowered. You can get involved in making a difference in the lives of the girls by getting in touch with us on our email at agiuganda@gmail.com 0r call +256789653297

About African Girl Initiative Uganda

Bwaise is a slum area and one of the biggest in Uganda's capital Kampala. It is one of the poorest areas in Kampala, with high rates of HIV and AIDS, very poor sanitation, large number of commercial sex workers, the largest number eats one meal a day. Many girls living in these slums are exposed to a lot of violence and many dropout of school. It's against this background that African Girl Initiative Uganda is carrying out a project that will avail girls in Bwaise skills and also enhance their knowledge on reproductive health and their rights. African Girl Initiative Uganda is affiliated to Man Up, a global youth campaign to stop violence against women. . View all posts by African Girl Initiative Uganda

3 responses to “Making a difference in the Lives of Girls in the Bwaise slum of Uganda

Leave a Reply

